Hate your job? Why not become a graphic designer?

The first thing I saw when I stepped onto the train to London today was this ad in the morning newspaper. It amused me, so I thought I’d share it with you.

The ad made me smile at first. It’s nice to be part of an industry that seems to be perceived as one where everybody loves their jobs, where everybody is happy. After I read the lines below though, I thought about it a little more – In a time when graphic design is seen as almost synonymous with software, are these digital tools all you really need to be a graphic designer? Is a three month course that promises to equip you with ‘an in depth knowledge of the Adobe design programs’ all you need to get ‘top design jobs’? As a graphic designer, I believe there’s far more to it, but clearly a lot of people don’t. So what is it that you really need to be a designer?

Later today, my question was answered by the lovely Marina Willer of Pentagram. When talking about whether or not formal training in design is essential to design, she said: No matter how you do it, you have to master your craft. Whether through a design school or a great apprenticeship, you have to train yourself, work at it…no one is born a great designer. It’s when you master your craft that you can produce great design.

Leave a Reply

